Thursday 7 July 2022


GBA Presentation Evening 2016

GBA Presentation Evening 2016

The annual GBA Presentation evening took place on Friday 3rd June at the Duke of Richmond Hotel with the League and Knockout Winners picking up their trophies along with a number of other awards.  LMS picked up the Division 1 trophy with Jason Hooper taking MVP honours while Emma Hicks scooped the top prize in the Women's League with the MVP award for leading her team, Sigma Sparks to the League title.

Liz Kerr was also honoured as she bows out of all basketball for good - 15 years representing Guernsey and she will no doubt be remembered as one of Guernsey's best ever.

Dan Mariott picked up the Coach of the year award while Eleisha Gettings was awarded the Services to Basketball trophy for her work off the court, fund raising for club and Island and her coaching with the Women's Development team.

Pete Beausire was announced as Sixth Man of the Year and Javier Garcia picked up the Presidents nomination for a magic moment during the season having denied Paul Van Beek a game winning attempt by wandering into the middle of the court while refereeing!

It was a great night honouring everyone who contributes to the running of the Leagues, with special thanks going to:

  • Baz Robilliard for his tireless stats and officiating work
  • Vistra (formally Legis for their continued sponsorship of the League)
  • Vicky Farish for organising the presentation evening
  • All the coaches, referees and administrators
  • All the players!

The full list of winners are detailed below:

Division 1 League Winners - LMS

Division 1 KO Winners  - X The Finish Line

Division 1 MVP - Jason Hooper

Women's League Winners - Sigma Sparks

Women's KO Winners  - Comets

Women's League MVP - Emma Hicks

Division 2 League Winners - LMS Used

Division 2 KO Winners - Giants

Division 2 MVP - Jeff Stuart

Division 3 League Winners - Diverse U16

Division 3 KO Winners - Diverse U16

Division 3 MVP - Alex Vaudin

Most Promising Junior Player - George Thomas

Most Improved Ladies Player - Eden Fabbri

Coach of the Year - Dan Mariott

Sixth Man Award - Peter Beausire

Services to Basketball - Eleisha Gettings

Presidents Pick - Javier Garcia